St. Giles’ Church is the dominant feature of the town’s Market Place, and is often referred to as ‘The Church at the Heart of the Town’. Its unique, octagonal tower, visible from miles around, proclaims the Glory of God to the people of Pontefract and visitors to the town.
A Chantry Chapel (called St Mary de Foro, meaning “in the market place” ) and a small Chapel close by were dedicated to St Oswald. They were both built before 1122, nearly 1000 years ago but St Giles did not become the town’s Parish church until 1789.
Take a look at the following document for more information.